top of page

Lots of Winners, More to Come

It's been an exciting year here at Tree Shadow Press. Two of our authors have had new releases and three others will soon see their work in print. Three of our authors won a combined FOUR prizes in The Author Zone TAZ Book Awards, which honors "indie published" books. Our books competed against hundreds of others. We are proud of our authors and our publications.

Ruth Ochs Webster's 2nd book of her Toe the Mark series, Jesse: 53rd Kentucky, was published March 31, 2018. Inspired by the life of an actual veteran of the Civil War: Corporal Jesse J. Cook, Co. B, 53rd KY. Second in the Toe the Mark Civil War Series. Based on military records from the National Archives, regimental records, historical newspaper accounts, and genealogical research. She is currently working on her next book which will be about cousins who find themselves on opposite sides. Look for it in 2019. Her debut novel, Henry: The Jersey Brigade, was awarded The Author Zone TAZ award for "Best Historical Fiction" in 2017.

Debra R Sanchez's collection of poetry, Raw & Unfinished, was released March 18, 2018. It is a mix of award winners and previously published pieces with a few fresh ones. She is currently working on two projects. Celebrate will be an anthology of celebrations collected from people of all ages and interests. Her other book is another bilingual picture book, Flutter Me By, with illustrations by Michelle Bowden-Dobi. Sanchez and Dobi collaborated on another bilingual picture book, And My Mother Cried/Y Mi Mamá Lloró, which won The Author Zone TAZ award for "Best Children's Book" of 2017. It was published in August 2017. Her book about writing prompts, Prompted, Prodded, Published: How Writing Prompts Can Help All Writers, was published in May of 2017. It was awarded second best "Business" book of 2017 at The Author Zone TAZ awards.

Author Kerry E.B. Black has two short story collections due out soon. They are both "light horror" with Carousel of Nightmares tame enough for middle grades and older and Herd of Nightmares for more mature readers.

David Q. Hall's second book in the Death Most Unholy series, Death Crashes the Wedding, is in the hands of our editors and could be released in time for the holidays. His first book, Death Comes to the Rector debuted in August 2017.

Another author new to Tree Shadow Press is Megan E. Vance. She is the author of a devotional, Sure Mercies: Hope for the Suffering, which was published through a different press. Her collection of poetry, Praises and Ponderings from a Poet's Path is due to come out later this year.

For those who are counting, only three awards have been mentioned. Our fourth TAZ award was given to Susanna Fussenegger. Her debut book, A Man, A Plan, A Life for Us won second place in the "Memoir" division.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page